My Friend Broke His Neck

My friend broke his neck.

The moment his head hit the sand bar he knew he was going to die.  He couldn’t feel his body and the waves kept pushing him back down to the ocean floor.  What was going through his mind?  I’m sure he said a prayer.  I’m sure he thought about his wife, son, and daughter.  I wonder if he thought about his baseball career?

My friend didn’t die. He lived and the story is amazing.  He is in Spring Training right now trying to make a team.  But I am not going to tell you the rest.  My hope is that reporters start asking around.  They can find him and it will be the biggest story of Spring Training.

Happy hunting.

PS…To My Buddy, I know you wanted to keep a low profile, but people need to hear this story.

Morgan

12 Comments on “My Friend Broke His Neck”

  1. I really want to hear more about this one….

  2. James Poisso says:

    Morgan, I’m sure David doesn’t mind

  3. Karen says:

    You really should think about writing mysteries…now I want to know more about your friend.

  4. Teri Bono says:

    oh my gosh–how on earth has this not already been reported on? when did he break his neck?

  5. thom says:

    there was a newspaper article, naming him, yesterday…

  6. Coach V says:

    The Houston Chronicle just did just wrote a piece on David a few days ago.

  7. ctr says:

    houston chronicle wrote about it last year — http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/sports/bb/6927401.html

    and the north county times wrote about it on saturday — http://www.nctimes.com/sports/baseball/professional/mlb/padres/article_59a696a2-c572-56c9-95b6-1aafcb0dc7d0.html

    still a hell of a story

  8. Ross N. says:

    I happen to knnow your friend and his family and I know they all feel very blessed….I’m sure they would thank you for putting many people onto this story and the Lord’s hand in your friends recovery.

  9. Marty Cunningham says:

    David Newhan. Is this your friend?

  10. K9 says:

    Wow! That’s amazing! I am happy he is alive!

  11. Dan Duran says:

    Thanks for sharing this story, Morgan.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers