Hey YO!

First post!  I am Morgan Ensberg and this is a blog that teaches you about baseball.  Not crap, but solid fundamentally based strategy and teaching.  Each week I will teach you something about the game either at the professional or amateur level.  You can email me suggestions or questions and I will try and base the following week’s topic on the responses or questions that I receive. Got it!  Cool.

Let’s Do This!…….aaaahhhhh….is anybody there?


57 Comments on “Hey YO!”

  1. Burns says:

    Let’s do this! I’d like to read some skinny, inside the psyche type stuff. Drop the hammer 14!

  2. Eric Jones says:

    Morgan, you were my favorite Astro for a couple of years. I still have a ball that you signed for me in 2005. The day before you hit that very same ball foul and it was crushed. The ball sits in my office to this day. Currently, my step-daughter has MRSA and it is being treated with Anitbiotics. My question for you is, how did the effects of MRSA end your career and is there anything you could have done to prevent it from happening?

    • MRSA! Wow I can’t believe that you remember that!

      This is very treatable if it is caught early. You would have to really ignore the fever, wound, etc to get in trouble. The doctors told me that MRSA lives on us and it is only in rare cases that you get infected.

  3. Arick Wade says:

    Great blog! Sad you ended your baseball career, but thrilled for this blog! I still remember the 2005 season( i was 11 at the time) and you were my favorite player on that team and in fact still have your autograph! Looking forward to many more posts!

  4. Susan says:

    Yep, somebody’s here… and probably a lot more now that Alyson Footed tweeted and blogged the URL of your site to her followers. Looking forward to reading it. I was one of the fans who never booed you (hard to hear boos from Exile anyway). I really enjoyed watching you play (especially in odd-numbered years). Love good defense. Good luck with the blog!

  5. SFC B says:

    I’m one of the folks who came from Alyson Footer’s link from Astros.com.

    My favorite “Morgan Ensberg” story was seeing the Astros play a three-game set against the Diamondbacks in 2005. My wife and I sat in a group of other Astros fans. One of whom spent all three games yelling at the top of her lungs how much she loved you every time you came up to bat or took the field. It was amusing for the first couple innings of the first game. By the end of the third it had progressed deep into creepy-stalker-territory.

  6. Odd numbered years! That is great! Thanks Susan…I wish I could have given you some good even numbered years.

    Morgan

  7. Becky B. says:

    Morgan…..I never booed you! You were so very missed, when you left the Astros! I will NEVER forget you playing in the World Series. I’ve checked on you for the past four years. I hope you
    will find you way back into baseball, in some form. You were too
    good at it to leave it forever. Thanks for the memories! Becky B.

    • Thanks Becky. I started broadcasting and it is really fun. It allows me to teach the game which is my true passion. You’ll see me at some point. Have a great week!

      Morgan

  8. Buck says:

    Morgan,
    Looking forward to hearing your teaching points (on hitting in particular). I work with a 14 year old team and do the majority of their batting practice (read in your other post your BEST year was at 14). The greatest hitting information that I’ve recieved to date is from a former Astros #1 pick (Steve Englishbey.

    • I failed to mention that my 14 year old league only had 2 teams in it. Maybe that sample was too small. Oh well….it was a fun year! Our Hermosa Beach Pony team beat up on all the power houses in the area that year. It was fun being David against Goliath!

      I will get to some hitting, but it is really important for your kids to know that at age 14 it is all about having fun. If they aren’t smiling then you are doing something wrong.

      Good luck Buck!

      Morgan

  9. Kevin says:

    Yep, I showed up thanks to Alyson’s Tweet. Glad to see that you are using your God-given talent and sharing it with the next generation. From one blogger to another, “Good luck and good writing”.

  10. Eric says:

    Morgan,
    I hated to see you leave the Astros. Its not the same going to the games now that you, Adam,and Brad are no longer there.I have a 16 yr old daughter that plays softball.She got moved up to varsity but she doesnt get much play time because her at bats are not that great. Any pointers on what we can do to help improve het hitting?
    Good luck with the broadcasting, Maybe we will get to see you on Fox.

    • I think softball is really hard. Without seeing your daughter I can only give you a couple suggestions. The most important is that she holds the bat in her fingers and not her palms. Don’t worry about lining up your knuckles or anything. The next suggestion is to choke up on the bat more. This gives you better bat control. Tell me how it goes.

      Morgan

  11. Chandler A says:

    Hey, morgan i was wanting to know if you knew of some drills for hitting anyone could do without breaking windows in a neborhood?

    Thanks
    P.S.:if you were asked to take a job to help in astros organization would you? One more Question, honestly what was your fav. team as a kid?

    • Drills without breaking windows don’t work. I think the best drill to do without looking at your swing is to take a small bat and swing one handed with your lead hand. The reason I say this is because the lead had is where you can shorten your swing the most. Practice hitting the ball without rolling over.

      I would love to work for the Astros. My favorite team as a kid was the Dodgers.

      Thanks Chandler,

      Morgan

  12. Rick Grau says:

    Looking forward to following your blog! Hey, even though you got booed I know us Astros fans were still pulling for you to turn it around because we love a nice guy and could tell you are one. I wish you much success in your post-playing career and would love to see you back with the Astros in some capacity.

  13. Nancy says:

    Mo,
    Followed Allyson over to you and am bookmarking you asap! My favorite memory – you were playing third, there was a pop up foul ball that hit a seat or the railing, bounced up and you snagged it. You then threw your arms over your head to celebrate like most fans do when they catch a foul ball. Hilarious! One of my most favorite memories – keep up the blog and look forward to your insight.

  14. Yusuke says:

    Hi, Morgan! I am Yusuke from Yokohama, Japan. I was wondering what you were doing since last March. I wish you all the best for your new endeavor. By the way, how are your boys’ doing? I saw your family’s picture in Astros magazine back in 2006. They are so cute!!

  15. AstroHog says:

    Ensberg! I’m happy you started this. I was always a huge fan of yours, from the time I first saw you play in Round Rock. One of my favorite moments at Minute Maide (of the moments where I was actually there) involved you. You hit a walk-off HR in the 10th against the Blue Jays. I’m looking forward to reading this each week!

  16. Ruben says:

    Baseball is like counting to infinity. You could be around the game your whole life, but there will never be a true mastering of it. I love to learn as much as I can about this game and I’m thrilled about the birth of this blog. I can’t wait for some of the “MLB level” perspectives that you have to offer…Do you have any suggestions of any great baseball books?

    PS: I live about 300 miles south of Houston (between 5-6 hour drive), so going to an Astros game is usually the highlight of my year. It was an honor to watch you play ball during one of the most exciting eras in Texas baseball history, and I wish you the best of luck in your broadcasting endevours.

    -Ruben F.

    • Ruben I am a book “Guy”. I am reading non–stop. The first baseball book I read was George Will’s “Men at Work”. I was a sophomore at Redondo (high school) and it opened my eyes to the ability to information to gain a competitive advantage agains your opponent. It changed everything.

      I’ll tell you what, why don’t you and I both read it. Heck, maybe we will start some sort of book club! You in?

      Morgan

  17. Ruben says:

    Heck yeah I’m in for a good ol book club! And yeah, George Will’s “Men at Work” was refered to me by my college rhetoric professor last year. The research in that book is incredible! I was amazed (yet, not suprised) to learn how complex getting to the Bigs, much less staying there, really is.

  18. Mike F. says:

    Morgan:

    Just found your blog through your Wikipedia page while I was checking in on you. Very sad to hear you are retiring (I’ve been hoping and telling anyone who would listen why the Astros needed you back at third) but very happy to hear you are getting behind the mic. You and Brad Ausmus have always been my favorite players to hear from because you are true students of the game. You will no doubt give an incredible insight to the game and I wish you all the best in this new chapter.

    I would definitely be interested in following a Morgan Ensberg ‘Book Club’ – I thought of a full list of books after your first post with Ruben, so I’ll be interested in seeing where you go with this. I agree that the thing I would like to see most is your insider’s look at the game, and any tips on hitting you have would be much appreciated; the batting stance may have moved around some, but your swing should be taught as a how-to to all young players.

    Oh, and my favorite ‘Mo’ memory? Other than my wife and I getting to meet you briefly during an autograph session, it would be the time you had your hand up to call for a time-out, then realized the ump didn’t call it and clubbed the pitch into the home bullpen basically one-handed. Good times…

    • Boy those were the days Mike. I am really pumped you want to join this book club idea. I think we will start with George Will’s “Men at Work” as our first book. Heck, maybe I can get George to talk to us. You never know.

      Morgan

  19. A.J. says:

    Hey morgan

    I live in Austin and have attended countless numbers of express games since year one in 2000. I was 8 at the time, but I loved watching you play for round rock. I have always rooted for you extra b/c of your time at round rock

  20. Ruben says:

    I spent this past weekend in San Antonio with my wife thinking about everything that isn’t school-related, and thinking about how an epic online baseball book club can potentially operate. All I found out though, was that I can take a super-simple concept and make it super-complicated…

    How about giving it a name? Maybe Mo’s Turf Worms… Or Caught Booking?.

    Regardless of how this book club comes to be, consider me a full fledge member!

  21. Mads says:

    Ha! “Caught Booking” – good one, I love it! Can’t wait to see how this book club thing goes, it’s a really good idea.

    • I like that Mads. I still need to figure out how to run the book club though. Do you have any suggestions? I have never been in one.

      Morgan

      • Mads says:

        I might… Have people vote among a series of ‘candidates’ for the book to read, and then open a debate forum where readers can discuss some subjects – and start by taking bids for writing a review of the book, so that the discussion can open with something. Alternatively, of course, you could write that review yourself, depending on how much time you want to spend on it, who else would want to write it, etc.

  22. Matt Wood says:

    Hey, Morgan.

    A topic that would interest me, and perhaps others relates to players keeping their focus day to day during the long season.

    I travel a fair amount for my job within the US & overseas, and understand that while I am flying, in the hotel, at a meeting, at dinner w/ customers or suppliers, etc., my family may be facing some issue at home, or just the usual algebra homework😉, school issues, etc.

    Some days on the road I am not at my best due to being exhausted from travel, or there is some issue at home that has me a distracted, etc., so at times, to focus takes extra effort. And, I am not trying to hit a 95 mph fastball or perform my job before thousands of fans, press, etc. like a MLB player is.

    It would be interesting for me to hear about a player’s life on the road. What you like, don’t like, what makes it harder to keep that focus, etc. How do you maintain focus/energy/passion day to day? This may a broad topic & is not baseball strategy, but having traveled regularly & being a lifelong baseball fan, it is a topic that I would find interesting. If you have the time or interest…

  23. Matt Wood says:

    Morgan, if I may add a quote appropriately describing blogs & Facebook…

    British poet, Lord Byron (1788-1824)
    “Letter writing is the only device for combining solitude with good company.”

    In our time, blogs & Facebook seem to be nice devices “for combining solitude with good company”.😀 Your blog succeeds…

  24. Linda says:

    Hey Morgan,
    Thrilled to see your blog. You were one of our very favorite Astros (that’s saying a lot because your a Trojan and we all attended Stanford!!). We try to keep up with you via news from Jose deJesus Ortiz of the Chron who speaks to you some times. We love going in to LaVisata on Fountain View to see your autograph on the wall. Have a great time with your blog, so far it is great!!! At our house, we’ll be fans of yours for life. THE BEST TO YOU ALWAYS. My daughter has a baseball you autographed for her and it is her prized possession. Thank you for being so kind always.

    Linda

    • Linda I love La Vista!!! My wife Christi and I would go there any chance we got. The owner over there is awesome. I was walking back to the bathroom and he had a sharpie. Without saying a word, I grabbed the pen and wrote my signature on the wall. I just thought it would be funny. I’m glad that was actually what he wanted me to do. heheh

      Morgan

  25. Stephen Luftschein says:

    Hey Morgan, nice to see an insider doing something like this. I’m a former player and scout, so I’m looking forward to catching up on the older posts and reading your views.


Leave a Reply

