Don’t Believe Me? You Better Check

What’s my point?

I tried to sway your opinion in the previous piece called And You Are Trying To Figure Out Why We Don’t Tell You the Truth with the title of this article.

Why does it matter?

Readers who decide to read my posts have to understand that there is no regulation or accountability to this blog.  It is your responsibility to step back and find out for yourselves if the information I give is correct.  Don’t believe me unless you check the facts.

Gregg Matte

When we lived in Houston, we attended Houston’s First Baptist Church.  We became friends with the head pastor there Gregg Matte.  We were listening to a sermon once when he said something that blew my mind.

“Guys (Congregation), just because I am standing up here with a microphone and a Bible doesn’t mean that you should just blindly believe what I am saying.  It is your responsibility to check this information out for yourself!  We want you to grow in your relationship with Christ.”

Did I just hear that from our pastor?  Did he just say to listen to him and then check him out to make sure he is telling the truth?  That is amazing!  As I sat there it made so much sense to me.  God wants us to check his book.  Why would you blindly believe something that someone says just because he went to school to get the title of Pastor?  It was brilliant.  Of course we should check or else a bunch of people start doing really crazy things in the name of Christianity.

And You Are Trying To Figure Out Why We Don’t Tell You the Truth

As I was thinking about titles, I wanted to think of something that was subtle, but definitely gets the reader to think I am against this piece by Solomon.  Some of the other ideas were, Writer’s Love Negative, Fine I’ll Tell You But You Aren’t Going to Like It, and This Writer Just Crushed Me.  I almost pulled the trigger on the second example there, but I thought it was too blatant.  So I decided on And You Are Trying To Figure Out Why We Don’t Tell You the Truth.

My thinking behind it was that I wasn’t identifying who I was saying this statement to.  Was it to a writer, or a fan, or both?  I hoped that writing it that way would catch as many people as possible.  From the responses, it seemed like everyone thought I was talking to fans.  The writers that responded seem to explain more the editing side of writing and didn’t really cover if they thought I was talking to them.

Do Not Trust Me Until You Check

There is nothing left for me to say.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter


14 Comments on “Don’t Believe Me? You Better Check”

  1. walkoff59 says:

    Outstanding lesson. I have learned to take the media with a grain of salt. Good or bad. A little more so when I went to work for the Rays.

    If I want to really know something that someone in the media says, I check…or at least try to check the facts. Unfortunately for most…you have to check the facts with some other media outlet . So you either have the story straight…or a couple of buffoons trying to support the negative. I will never blame an athlete for lying to the media.

  2. Andy Scarpulla says:

    Morgan, love the blog! You give a great amount of insight on the game us baseball junkies normally can’t get.

    This is just a perfect example of how people should think for themselves instead of blindly following the leader.

    Thanks for the doing this blog. Keep it up!

  3. Wells says:

    Interesting post, but I don’t believe a word of it.

  4. teamlittleguy says:

    Interesting perspective, but I think multiple sourcing can only get you so far. You have to fully understand the context of any particular situation to grasp the reality of what has happened. In baseball, there are many barriers to this understanding, and I for one *try* to keep in mind that I am “seeing through a glass darkly.”

    Your use of religion as a parallel is pretty instructive. To fully understand what a biblical author meant in any one particular instance – you have to understand the context of the society in which he lived, and the meaning of specific words, phrases or customs in that specific time. If you don’t, you may end up a long way from the truth of the message.

    An example is Jesus’ instruction to “turn the other cheek,” which is widely understood as a call to meekness, but according to some scholars was actually a specific instruction for people who were being physically oppressed to nonviolently stand up for themselves.

    In the same way, baseball is a game with a particular rhythm, language and custom. I would venture to say that most writers have to “dumb it down” into a context and language that connects with the casual fan (hence reaching the most eyeballs).

    As someone “in the trenches” of the baseball culture, you (Morgan) will always be given more benefit of the doubt and assigned credibility (rightly or wrongly).

  5. jimm ny says:

    works both ways, trust your men, but verify…..or you could look stupid.

  6. Couch Tater says:

    I don’t know Gregg Matte, but he probably believes Solomon’s proverbs.

  7. Drew says:

    Not to be digging up the past here but the incident with Dallas Braden and ARod: When ARod said he was surprised about that behavior from a guy with a “handful of wins” I honestly thought that was a compliment. 18-23 record, I guess 18 is a “handful”. Its more than just being a rookie fresh out of AAA isn’t it? Everyone else seems to think that ARod was mocking his losing record. And having thought about it, I don’t really know what ARods intentions were when he said “handful of wins”. Did he mean that hes surprised that a player with that much experience would still be acting like hes in little league? Was he mocking the losing record and calling 18 a pitiful amount of wins? I don’t know, I wasn’t there to hear his tone of voice and I haven’t watched any videos on it. So yeah, I tend to take a lot of what writers put out there with a grain of salt.

  8. Tony says:

    One thing to keep in mind with headlines: They are almost always written by an editor who has skimmed the article but because of deadlines, hasn’t taken time to try and get the point that the writer is trying to make.

    Tony

  9. zac says:

    morgan you make a good point, my father is a pastor and emphasizes that same saying. no matter the credentials someone may have to their name you should always double check, because everything you hear, especially with the media, is not always true.


Leave a Reply

