ESPN Article

ESPN.com asked me to write a quick post about the draft.  In typical fashion, I wrote something not the norm and the readers let me know.  Check it out!

Morgan


41 Comments on “ESPN Article”

  1. mcsey says:

    That was pretty cool, it was a bit confusing about who was talking to who though. I had to back up a coupla of times and figure out who was saying what even with the italics.

  2. Teri Bono says:

    i’m amazed at what spews out of people’s mouths–i mean, serioulsy–if they don’t like the article, okay—just read it, move on w/your life……but to write such awful things? i don’t get it? it’s just not necessary.

    Mo, i loved the article–understood it perfectly and followed every conversation just fine—–anyone who’s ever read a BOOK would be able to follow it…………….don’t let those ugly comments get to you…sounds like they all have bigger “issues” they need to be dealing with in their lives!

    • Thanks Teri- It is really hard to hear that you “suck” when all you are trying to do is be honest. I know it was my article, but I loved it because it really was what I was thinking. I only had 2 girlfriends growing up because I wanted to get married and have a family. For some reason I thought it wasn’t realistic for me to have a girlfriend if I wasn’t going to marry her.

      The other part that upsets me is that readers and fans just see us as characters. They want to hear that everything is “perfect” and we do all these “cool” things. Well that isn’t realistic. Our fears are the same as your fears. At age 21 I was wondering how I was going to find my wife when I was somewhere unfamiliar. That’s real.

      Morgan

  3. Jon Weisman says:

    Loved it, Morgan.

  4. Ian says:

    It’s disappointing to see all the negative comments on your article, Morgan. I enjoyed it. Your lack of quotation marks reminds me of Frank McCourt (the Irish-American author best known for Angela’s Ashes, not the Dodgers’ owner).

    • Thanks Ian. I thought it would be fun to keep the quotation marks off of the article. The reality is that I mis-judged the target audience by a mile. I should have just wrote something funny and easy.

      Morgan

  5. Jon Weisman says:

    Just looked at the comments at ESPN. I sincerely can’t believe the negative reaction.

  6. Linda says:

    That was the sweetest article Morgan. There are LOTS more important things in life than playing MLB baseball. Your wife and your children are your treasures in life, and it’s nice that you are not ashamed to let everyone know. Kudos to you for being one of the good guys. And again, thanks for sharing your stories. They are priceless.

  7. Ashitaka says:

    Morgan, please allow me to apologize on behalf of the entire blasted human race. Seeing people react to other’s work like they did in the comments enrages me to a point of near-insanity. The anonymity of the Internet brings out the absolute worst in people. It’s no small wonder that there is so much crime and violence and hatred when we see the kind of horrible manners people can have. I’m beyond enraged. I have no words to express my absolute disgust at how you were treated. I wish I could say more, but I…CAN’T even find the words. The only words coming to mind right now are wild strings of expletives. Absolute, insane rage is what I feel towards them. I just…I just cannot FATHOM how human beings could act in such a way. No wonder every other country in the world hates the USA. No wonder people in the middle east want us dead. Apparently some people deserve it. Ugh.

    • Ash you are very nice. Thank you for those words. I am not mad at the readers who wrote those comments as much as I am disappointed that I chose to write from that voice. I should have done a better job of identifying who would read the article. I have learned.

      Morgan

  8. teamlittleguy says:

    I think it’s awesome how you put pieces of yourself out there, and you aren’t afraid to tell the truth as you see and experience it (in this case with a bit of “storyteller’s license”).

    My humble .02 … your name brings you some attention, but telling the truth keeps you relevant and (unfortunately) rather unique in baseball’s public square. I’m guessing that’s one of the main things that brings your readers back here.

    (Even Braves fans you crushed in 2005. 7 RBI in four games? Seriously?) :lol

    • TLG- I love the Braves organization because they do such a great job from scouting to the big leagues. They also really play the game right. That playoff game was really fun!

      Morgan

      • teamlittleguy says:

        They’ve been in the wilderness for a while, but they are making a lot of progress. And they have some positively filthy arms in A ball right now.

        Good to see them playing well in Bobby’s final year.

  9. Danyah44 says:

    I thought it was terrific. Thanks for writing it.

  10. Razzlegator says:

    14,
    You riled me up when you wrote; then Florida … gone, beat them. Oh well, life goes on. I think that was the point of your article. Judging by the comments, reading comprehension is not a subject that is taught in school anymore.

    • Razzlegator….it wasn’t supposed to be arrogant…my hope was to try and build excitement in my voice so that by the end of the sentence you could see that we were ready!

      One of my good friends was on that team…a great gator…Derek Nicholson. We went to the same high school.

      Morgan

      • Razzlegator says:

        Morgan,
        I didn’t take your statement as arrogance. I get riled up anytime the Gators lose at anything, including tiddly winks.
        Your article brought back a long forgotten memory, but I couldn’t figure out what it was, so the lame comment about the CWS. That memory has come back to me now, and that is your style of writing in that article was so similar to Ken Kesey’s “Sometimes a Great Notion”. If you haven’t read that book, you should. You will have no trouble following the narrative.

  11. John says:

    Nicely done. Intensely personal, giving us a great window into your world.

  12. mos says:

    That was good.

  13. LAT says:

    I loved the people who complained about having taken the time to read the article as though it were War and Peace. For most literate people it should have been a five minute read. If you didn’t like it move on. If you did, smile. It certainly doesn’t merit the vitriol some spewed. Enz, ignore those knuckleheads and keep writing.

    • LAT- I learned a great lesson which was to better understand the audience. Over here on our blog, we like to get into discussions and really tell stories. If I were to do it again, I would have made it funny and strickly about ball. I learned.

      Morgan

  14. Lucas says:

    Man what a great insight into the head of Morgan Ensberg. This was before it all began! I’m from Texas so the cowboy stuff cracks me up. I’m such a huge fan and love to see stuff you write about your personal thoughts and experiences. My friend Josh turned me on to your blog and I check it everyday hoping to see more of this. The greatest thing about this article and the way you live your life is that its true and honest. You have a strong relationship with God and have a beautiful family. What else in life is more fun and exciting to write about then that?

    • Lucas says:

      Oh I caught some of the Cal St vs Nm game and the official scorer is tough. There was a 90+mph line drive that almost bounced off that second baseman’s face and went into right center and you said WOW. Yeah I can’t believe it wasnt a hit either. Tough error call there. You guys did a great job.

    • Lucas you just made me smile! Thank you for those words.

      Isn’t it funny what people think about Texas? I really did think I would see cowboy hats everywhere and quiet a few horns on cars. I rarely saw cowboy hats and the only bull horns I saw was on my buddy Scott Linebrink’s 1981 yellow Cadillac.

      Morgan

  15. jklender says:

    Oh, that’s classic. I guess I missed the part of the article where you apparently insulted everyone’s mother. What are you going to do for an encore?

    Morgan, I don’t know if you saw today but the Tigers have DFA’ed a former teammate, Adam Everett. Judging by his comments to the press it sounds like he’s ready to hang it up… I’m not sure a lot of fans here in Detroit really appreciated what he brought to our ballclub last year. He has struggled this season and we have some pretty impressive kids ready to step up, but it’s still sad to see him go. Class act and one heck of a shortstop.

  16. lisa gray says:

    the persons who comment on espn are there to throw rotten fruits. period.

    they don’t want to hear about your long love for your WIFE. they want to hear nasty gossip. they want to hear how you really act like tiger woods. they want you to say something bad about jason lane/the rest of your teammates/the astros Organization.

    what i think is interesting is that you had a very hard time expressing your feelings LONG before the robbery at kissimmee.

    and you sure nuff are lucky that christi didn’t marry some other guy while you were still just thinkin she was HOTTT instead of going up and telling her that…

    and it is most definitely kewl to hear a guy say that after being with his wife for 10 years, she is STILL teh HOTTTTTTT.

    congrats to you both and i hope you keep having such a good relationship

  17. Andy II says:

    I don’t think it was your best-written piece, but it certainly didn’t warrant some of the comments you got on ESPN. Still: please, please, please keep writing. Don’t let ’em get you down.

  18. Sam says:

    Loved the article on ESPN. Its a nice change of pace from the usual stuff that goes up on the MLB page. Most of the people who read it must not like things like originality or creativity.

  19. John says:

    Mo,
    That piece was nice. I’m not surprised that the idiot sheep that watch ESPN regularly and read their articles found it difficult to follow since it didn’t have a bunch of stupid highlight catchphrases in it. Nice job again, Mo. Keep up the good work!

  20. Mike T says:

    I didn’t get it (the criticism). What was so difficult to follow? Did some of those readers need pictures to follow the plot?

    If you read enough ESPN forums, you’ll realize that half of the responses are criticisms, especially from people who “should OF” honed up on their own English and writing skills.

    I enjoyed the article!

  21. Robert says:

    Dude, it is sad but there are some people in this world who truly believe that if everyone else failed- or by putting everyone else down- that they will get ahead in life. It is a sad truth that we all have to live with. Take comfort in the fact that when you are a leader with a powerful opinion, or you are bucking the norms, you have to get some negative feedback. Otherwise, you are not saying what needs to be said. The masses just love to go along and not have anyone challenge them. Cause challenging them would mean growth and thinking out of the box and that can be uncomfortable.
    All I can say is that my buddy turned me on to your blog and I love every word written. I’m sure we won’t always agree, but I love the different perspective and the honest opinion. Keep up the good work and keep pushing the envelope. Remember new things at first are violently opposed, then violently denied, but as long as they are based in truth and good, eventually they are accepted. Thanks again for the post.
    Rob

    • Robert your words make me smile. We have a joke in baseball that Russ Springer used to say to guys….”(Name) just because you blow out other peoples candles doesn’t mean that yours is shining brighter.” We would all laugh at that point.

      Your point about change is so true and I myself feel uncomfortable during that process. It seems unfortunate to me that most fans just get lied to and they love it. They love hearing what they want to hear, but then when snippets of truth come out they are outraged. I am very thankful for my relationships with teammates, organizations, and media. I never dodged a question. If I didn’t want to answer the question I would say, “There is no way for me to put this in a way that comes out sounding good. Is there another question that you can ask?” I was telling them that I was not going to lie and if I couldn’t answer the question then we will have to ask a question that I can answer better.

      My point is that I am going to hit you straight. You will not like some of the things I may say, but I am not trying to stir the pot. That article was exactly what I was thinking during that time. i wasn’t thinking about buying a expensive car and thinking about how cool it would be to hit a home run that wins a world series. I was thinking about what mattered most to me and that was to be a husband and father.

      Morgan


Leave a Reply

