The Unwritten Rulebook

I have decided to show you the “Unwritten Rulebook.”  Understand that what I am doing is going to bother a lot of players.  But it is time for you to see this.  You will notice that the rules are presented in outline form.  There is a rule and its corresponding definition.  In the end there is a summary and finally instructions about who can and cannot see this.

Before you read this, really think about the decision you are making.  This stuff is “Unwritten” and may be difficult to see let alone understand.

The Unwritten Rulebook

”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           ”

”                                                                                    ”

”                                                                                                                ”

”                                                                                                       ”

”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            ”

”                                                                                                                                                                                                                          ”

”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 ”

”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          ”

Never show these rules to anyone who is not a player in the Big Leagues.

Abner Doubleday


43 Comments on “The Unwritten Rulebook”

  1. Laura says:

    brilliant!

  2. orlando says:

    bwahahahaha!!

  3. Erik says:

    Oh Morgan, I was so exccited….

  4. Patrick Johnson says:

    there’s a typo in the 3rd graf. It’s ‘I’ before ‘E’ except after ‘C,’ Morgan

  5. Well speaking of which. What’s your take on what happened during A’s vs. Yanks yesterday? My dad (who was a pretty big deal HS player back in the day before getting hurt) and I both felt Braden was in the right and what A-Rod did was bush league (add it to the list, right?)

    In the post game interviews, how the two players defended their positions was what I found particularly telling of each man’s character.

    For the record, I’m a Met fan, but not a Yankee hater like some are. It’s difficult to dislike most of those guys even if I wanted to, since the bulk of them are classy professionals who play the game the right way. Most of all, I just love the game and I hate seeing a supremely talented individual act like a punk. I really want to praise A-Rod’s accomplishments – considering he may end up the all-time HR king, but he’s just not a likable guy.

    I suppose that’s why Hank’s still The King to me, even though I never got a chance to see him play.

  6. Ben Londa says:

    Brilliant, Morgan. Love it! Keep up the amazing, intelligent, and hilarious work.

    ” ” “

  7. Steve Stein says:

    First rule of Fight Club – never talk about Fight Club.

  8. Ha! I know, I know… but how often does one get to pose such a question to a big leaguer like Mr. Ensberg?

  9. Teri Bono says:

    LOVE IT!

  10. Jerkface says:

    Rule 3a is a bunch of garbage. I can’t believe you guys actually do that.

  11. Leo says:

    …..I didn’t know that……

  12. PhilM says:

    FANtastic! This emperor has no clothes, no matter what the “keepers” of these unwritten rules claim. How does that old bromide go: “the winners make the rules”? Thank you, Morgan for letting Schrodinger’s cat out of the bag in a tongue-firmly-in-cheek way!

  13. Kenny says:

    Which one of these rules is your favorite, Morgan?

    I especially like ” ”.

    Also, this is hilarious.

  14. lisa gray says:

    morgan,

    this is INCREDIBLE!!!

    those are EXACTLY the rules i always thought they’d be!!!

  15. Kyle says:

    I was actually kind of excited. Not that I thought it was going to be earthshattering, but I had my hopes up. I really did. Now I’ll never make it to the big leagues. 😦

  16. openabner says:

    Pitch perfect post!

    I don’t think I’ve ever watched a game where a position player walked across the mound. Unwritten rule or not, it just seems unnecessary.

  17. […] The Unwritten Rulebook I have decided to show you the “Unwritten Rulebook.”  Understand that what I am doing is going to bother a […] […]

  18. Bergie says:

    I received a book from my daughter for my birthday. It is all about the unwritten rules of baseball. I have not finished it yet. However I have read through a part about staling bases when you are so many runs ahead by the 7th inning. Some of the things they mention I do think that some of the teams follow and yet I don’t think all of the teams follow.

    Thanks for letting me contribute.

    Bergie

    • Bergie I know you don’t I? But you are right. This rule takes a little bit of feel for the game, but you should not be stealing bases when the game is out of reach.

      Morgan

  19. Linda says:

    Since I wasn’t supposed to see them, I closed my eyes when I read the rules…………………

  20. […] Take a gander at the “The Unwritten Rulebook” HERE. […]

  21. leutbneot says:

    This is brilliant. Reminds me of something Jim Bouton would write.

  22. caltex says:

    Mo, man am I frustrated, I was really excited to read the blog but my computer couldn’t open it up, just a lot of blank space.

    What is everyone reading, maybe you could email a different version as an attachment that I could open? I gotta call my computer geek to come over and fix this. I’m bummed. Help.

  23. Couch Tater says:

    Morgan – A question and I wasn’t sure where to post.

    What impact do you think the a Manager and his coaches really have? And, in your experience where did you learn the most about hitting and defense? A, AA, AAA, MLB?

    Of course, the reason I ask is it’s getting that time of year when some fans are starting to beat war drums for management, coach or player changes.

    Thanks.

    • Tater I learned very little strategy in professional baseball. I did learn a lot about playing everyday though. Managers and coaches can help, but more times then not, they hurt a team. The best coaches are positive and give you confidence. The worst are the ones who say, “I’m a realist” and are always criticizing. Managers that believe they are the reason a team wins really hurt teams. In my opinion, managers need to show players that they care about them. May sound a little weird, but players have to play for something other than themselves in order to be great.

      Morgan

  24. caltex says:

    Hey Mo, in looking at your reply to Tater about team management, this really applies to any successful management of any business or groups of people.

    I don’t know if you thought about it but you could be on the lecture/ motivational speaking circuit right now. Parallels between sports and business are striking.

    • Caltex I would really like to get into corporate speaking. It just makes sense to me. The trick is trying to figure out who to call and how to start that.

      Do you have any suggestions?

      Morgan

      • Angela says:

        Ok, so I may be a year late here, but I would bet you would be coveted here in Houston for speaking events. Your reputation as an honest, respectable team player still follows your name. I don’t know where you are now, but if you are near, I would love to try and set you up with some schools and/or companies. Our church has large connections throughout the city. Thank you for being a great role model for my children…actually buying a jersey tomorrow!

        angmpenning@sbcglobal.net

  25. Couch Tater says:

    Thanks for the response, Morgan.

    I think we must read some of the same things, as I saw your blog linked here…
    http://cmdr-scott.blogspot.com/

    My guess, is Jeff could give you tips on that speaking thing. I think he also writes for the Seattle Times where you could reach him.

    Good Luck.

  26. Couch Tater says:

    You already have. I enjoy the blog.

  27. Alexander Cartwright says:

    Abner’s really crossed the line this time

  28. […] main issue with “unwritten rules” is that they vary from person to person. Why do some celebrations rub people the wrong way, […]

  29. MLB PBI says:

    The fourth rule clearly states that these rules should never be republished, and the eighth rule states that for any violation, the penalty is banishment from baseball.

    If you want to avoid a penalty, you will take some white-out to any text referencing the unwritten rules immediately.

    MLB PBI.
    All rights reserved.


Leave a comment